The Goodwin Library is a publicly funded, privately endowed institution serving the town of Farmington, New Hampshire and several surrounding communities.
The Goodwin Library is a public library that serves as an information center for the personal, cultural, and social growth for the community of Farmington. The Library maintains collections and implements programs that address the community’s changing informational and recreational needs for education and literacy. The collections, materials, and programs are offered in a variety of formats to ensure equitable access for all. The Library believes that free and open access to information and resources will establish the framework for an informed and involved community.
The Public Library Association was formally organized on December 8, 1890. In 1927 the land on which the present library stands was purchased from E.T. Wilson. George Goodwin of West Milton was persuaded to build a library and thus provide not only a source of learning for the youth of the community but to create an enduring memory to his name. The corner stone was laid on August 23, 1928, the Goodwin Library was dedicated on May 10, 1929 and was opened for business the next day.